Gary Sullivan

As I write, we have 11 days 8 hours 46 minutes and 56…55…54…seconds until we depart from ye ole Charlotte Douglas International!!! I CANNOT WAIT! I have all the gear and clothing I need for the trip, and the only thing I have left to do is sign my Global Referral Form for the scuba diving (if Gary would ever get the paperwork ready). I’m ready to hike, scuba, work, play, drink sodas and everything else we will be doing.

Probably what I am most excited for is making new friendships. Traveling and learning about new cultures are two of my favorite things to do, so having the chance to work alongside the Yapese is really exciting. I want this JBIP trip to be more than just a fun experience or like the other trips abroad–I want this one to have a lasting impact even after we are gone. I want to be able to form friendships and relationships with all the people of Yap and simply enjoy the presence of all the people involved in this trip. I think this why I was initially attracted to Yap as my choice for JBIP. Being able to work alongside the native people and share in the same passions in nature is something I am really looking forward to and I know it will be an experience I will never forget.

Other things I am excited and looking forward to: Diving with sharks. Hiking. Exploring Yap and Honolulu. Listening to music on the plane ride. Blogging. Taking pictures (which I will probably do nonstop). Getting to know my teammates and professors more. Frisbee (possibly). Snorkeling. Kayaking. Eating. GIS’ing. AND SO MUCH MORE!!!

Leave a comment